Logo Wide

President Assad Announces New Syrian Government

The lineup of the new ministers that will form the Syrian government has been announced by President Assad writes SANA.
President Assad Announces New Syrian Government

On Sunday, President Bashar al-Assad issued the Decree No. 221, for the year 2020, forming the new Syrian government, chaired by Eng. Hussein Arnous.


The positions in the new Syrian government are as follows:

  • Hussein Arnous – Prime Minister
  • Major General Ali Abdullah Ayyoub – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defense
  • Walid al-Muallem – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign and Expatriates
  • Mohammad Abdelsattar al-Sayyed – Minister of Religious Endowments
  • Mansour Fadlallah Azzam – Minister of Presidential Affairs
  • Eng. Hussein Makhlouf – Minister of Local Administration and Environment
  • Dr. Salam Mohammad al-Saffaf – Minister of Administrative Development
  • Dr. Salwa Abdullah – Minister of Labor and Social Affairs
  • Dr. Mohammad Samer Abdelrahman al-Khalil – Minister of Economy and Foreign Trade
  • Imad Abdullah Sara – Minister of Information
  • Gen. Mohammad Khaled al-Rahmoun – Minister of Interior
  • Eng. Mohammad Rami Radwan Martini – Minister of Tourism
  • Dr. Bassam Bashir Ibrahim – Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research
  • Eng. Suhail Mohammad Abdullatif – Minister of Public Works and Housing
  • Eng. Iyad Mohammad al-Khatib – Minister of Communications and Technology
  • Talal Barazi – Minister of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
  • Dr. Lubana Mshaweh – Minister of Culture
  • Dr. Darem Tabbaa – Minister of Education
  • Ahmad al-Sayyed – Minister of Justice
  • Tammam Raad – Minister of Water Resources
  • Dr. Kenan Yaghi – Minister of Finance
  • Eng. Zourhir Khazim – Minister of Transport
  • Bassam Tu’ma – Minister of Petroleum and Mineral Resources
  • Dr. Hassan al-Ghabbash – Minister of Health
  • Ziyad Sabbagh – Minister of Industry
  • Eng. Mohammad Hassan Qatana – Minister of Agriculture and Agrarian Reform
  • Eng. Ghassan al-Zamel – Minister of Electricity
  • Mohammad Fayez al-Barsha – Minister of State
  • Mohammad Samir Haddad – Minister of State
  • Maloul al-Hussein – Minister of State


This article was edited by The Syrian Observer. The Syrian Observer has not verified the content of this story. Responsibility for the information and views set out in this article lies entirely with the author.

Helpful keywords