New Cabinet: Assad Keeps Halqi Mouallem and Friej, Adds 11 New Ministers

Among the new faces is Hassan al-Nuri, one of the two presidential candidates who ran against Assad in the presidential elections last June

Syria's President Bashar al-Assad formed a new government on Wednesday, two months after his reelection, leaving key ministries untouched as a brutal war continues to ravage his country.


Prime Minister Wael al-Halaqi, Foreign Minister Walid Muallem and Defense Minister General Fahd al-Freij retained their post, while 11 new ministers joined the ministerial club.


Among other ministers who retained their portfolios are ministers of interior, justice, religious affairs, information and presidential affairs, and electricity.


Among the new faces is Hassan al-Nuri, one of the two presidential candidates who ran against Assad in the presidential elections last June. He who will become minister of administrative development, a new portfolio that has been created for him.

Below are the names of the new cabinet inisters:


Dr. Wael Nader al-Halaqi, Prime Minister.

General Fahed Jassem al-Freij, Minister of Defense.

Waleed al-Mouallem, Deputy Prime Minister, Foreign and Expatriates Minister.

Omar Ibrahim Ghalawanji, Deputy Prime Minister for Services Affairs, Minister of Local Administration.

Dr. Mohammad Abdelsattar al-Sayyed, Minister of Religious Endowments.

Mansour Fadlallah Azzam, Presidential Affairs Minister.

Lt. Gen. Mohammad Ibrahim al-Sha’ar, Interior Minister.

Imad Mohammad Deeb Khamis, Electricity Minister.

Dr. Hazwan al-Waz, Education Minister.

Omran Ahed al-Zoubi, Information Minister.

Najm Hamad al-Ahmad, Justice Minister.

Hussein Arnous, Public Works Minister.

Ahmad al-Qadiri, Agriculture and Agrarian Reform Minister.

Sleiman al-Abbas, Petroleum and Mineral Resources Minister.

Dr. Ismail Ismail, Finance Minister.

Dr. Kinda al-Shammat, Social Affairs Minister.

Kamal Eddin Taameh, Industry Minister.

Bishr Riyad al-Yazigi, Tourism Minister.

Dr. Humam al-Jazaeri, Minister of Economy and Foreign Trade.

Dr. Mohammad Amer Mardini, Higher Education Minister.

Dr. Mohammad Ghazi al-Jalali, Communications and Technology Minister.

Dr. Kamal al-Sheikha, Water Resources Minister.

Dr. Hassan al-Nouri, Administrative Development Minister.

Mohammad Walid Ghazal, Housing and Urban Development Minister.

Dr. Khalaf Sleiman al-Abdullah, Labor Minister.

Dr. Ghazwan Kheir Bek, Transport Minister.

Dr. Nizar Wehbe Yazigi, Health Minister.

Hassan Safiye, Internal Trade and Consumer Protection Minister.

Issam Khalil, Culture Minister.

Dr. Ali Haidar, State Minister for National Reconciliation Affairs.

Dr. Nazira Serkis, State Minister for Environment Affairs.

Abdullah Khalil Hussein, State Minister.

Jamal Shaaban Shahin, State Minister.

Hassib Elias Shammas, State Minister.

Dr. Mohammad Muti’a Moayyad, State Minister.



Recommend article

Sender's Name:
Sender's Email:
Receiver's Name:
Receiver's Email: