Logo Wide

Daraa Factions Merge Under ‘Southern Brigades’

Opposition groups issue statement on Tuesday confirming merger in Syria's southern region
Daraa Factions Merge Under ‘Southern Brigades’

Fifteen opposition factions in the southern Daraa region of Syria announced their full integration under the "Southern Brigades" (Alwiya al-Junoub).

A statement broadcast on YouTube on Tuesday evening said that the integration will take place on all political and military levels, and that the brigades and battalions would present all their materiel to the newly-formed group.

The new formation includes 15 brigades and battalions, including: Liwa al-Mukhtar, Liwa Ahfad bin al-Waleed, Liwa Aisha Umm al-Momeneen, Liwa Ahrar Daraa, Liwa Ansar al-Sunna, Liwa Mujahideen al-Farouk, Liwa al-Amreen al-Islami, Liwa Mighaweer al-Shimaal, Liwa Hateen, Liwa Fustat al-Muslimeen, Kateebat Assoud Allah Hamza, Kateeba Jund al-Islam, Kateebat al-Marabeteen, Saraya Jund al-Rahman, and Saraya al-Khatab.

This article was translated and edited by The Syrian Observer. Responsibility for the information and views set out in this article lies entirely with the author.

Helpful keywords